Most of this site's functionality requires JavaScript to be enabled.

Invalid email/password
Log In
2017 Newberry Medal & Honor BooksSee more
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  Congratulations to this year's Newberry Medal winner, Kelly Barnhill, for The Girl Who Drank The Moon.
2016 Giller Prize Winner & FinalistsSee more
Congratulations to Madeleine Thien, winner of the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize.  The Giller Prize strives to highlight the very best in Canadian fiction year after year. The prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch. Find out more at
2016 Governor General's Literary Awards Winners & FinalistsSee more
Congratulations to Madeleine Thien, the 2016 Governor General's Literary Award winner for fiction. Over their 80 years, the GG Awards have expanded to include 7 categories, in both French and English, with a $25,000 prize.  They have celebrated nearly 700 works by over 500 authors, poets, playwrights, translators and illustrators.  For the winners and finalists, the awards bring valuable recognition from peers and readers across the country.  For the Canada Council for the Arts, which administers, funds and promotes the awards, they are an opportunity to promote Canadian literature and to invite people of all ages and backgrounds to read great books!  The winners will be announced on October 25th.  For the complete shortlist and winners in all categories and for more information, visit  
2016 Man Booker Prize Winner & FinalistsSee more
Congratulations to American author, Paul Beatty, winner of the 2016 Man Booker prize. His book, The Sellout, is a satire of US racial politics.  First awarded in 1969, the Man Booker Prize is recognised as the leading prize for high quality literary fiction written in English. Its list of winners includes many of the giants of the last four decades, from Salman Rushdie to Hilary Mantel, Iris Murdoch to Ian McEwan.  To hear the most up-to-date news on this year’s prize, listen to the Man Booker Prize Podcast series, or learn more about the prize’s history and share your thoughts online, please visit
2016 Victoria Book Prize Winners & FinalistsSee more
Congratulations to author Pauline Holdstock, winner of the 2016 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize for her book, The Hunter & The Wild Girl, and to author Dawn Green, winner of the 2016 Bolen Books Children's Book Prize for her book, In The Swish.  The winners were announced at the Awards Gala on Wednesday, October 12th.  For more book information click the titles below.  For more book prize information visit  2016 Victoria Book Prize . 
2016 Writers' Trust of Canada Prize Winners and FinalistsSee more
The Writers’ Trust was founded in 1976 by five notable and visionary Canadian authors — Margaret Atwood, Pierre Berton, Graeme Gibson, Margaret Laurence, and David Young — to encourage a flourishing writing community in Canada. The Writers’ Trust is proud to continue their work to keep writers writing, to celebrate their achievements, and to enable them to stand at the forefront of Canadian culture.  This year's Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Non-Fiction was awarded to Deborah Campbell for A Disappearance in Damascus.  The Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize was awarded to Yasuko Thanh for Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains.  Find out more at