Most of this site's functionality requires JavaScript to be enabled.

Invalid email/password
Log In

The BC Book Prizes, established in 1985, celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers.

The seven Prizes are presented annually at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala in the spring, as well as a presentation to the winner of The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence.  Congratulations to all of the 2017 BC Book Prize Winners!

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

The Heaviness of Things That Float
Jennifer Manuel

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize

A Disappearance in Damascus: A Story of Friendship and Survival in the Shadow of War
Deborah Campbell

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

If I Were In A Cage I'd Reach Out For You
Adele Barclay

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize

Mapping My Way Home: A Gitxsan History
Neil J. Sterritt

Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize

The Skeleton Tree
Iain Lawrence

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize

My Heart Fills With Happiness
Monique Gray Smith
Illustrated by Julie Flett

Bill Duthie Booksellers' Choice Award

Embers: One Ojibway's Meditations
Richard Wagamese